African Lit Is Lit #WinterABC24

Books are uniquely travel timers. The more you read the more places you travel..

Growing up i read most of the old classic African literature infact it still sits intact at the small library at home. They belonged to my mom and i have taken the liberties to book them for my own mini library i hope to have in the near future.

But but must i say it feels like i just discovered African literature thanks to Afro bloggers.

I met many bloggers who shared with me African literature in the lockdown and i fell in love again.

If i told you the places i have combed through in nigeria, that the imaginary taste of jollof rice, fufu, Suya, Egusi soup might have put my expectations a little over board that i imagine their fried plantain tastes nothing like what iam accustomed to here.

If i told you that i have felt more compassion for family and friends abroad just because of the stories relayed in these books.

If i told you my language may be richer with nowhere to practice it but in my head and its okay.

If i told you African Literature got me through my 9months of carrying a little human. 

If i told you nothing declutters my mind like African literature. 

Would you believe all of it?

Would you believe a girl who came from reading all kinds of american authors now prefers to read books from her continent.

Would you believe it?

Ask me what my hobby is!?

Its always been reading but this time you may find me eating chocolate while under covers and reading an African literature novel.

To relate is one of the most underated things.

Ahh the humor, descriptive texts.

So far Nigerians are full in my feed.

Please feel free to recommend books.

And yes i have read ‘ Everything is not Enough”

Latest book they are raving about.

Published by conniedia

I Am a Christian and this is a space to explore more on the Truth of the Gospel, encourage practical living of the Gospel and finding answers to the hard questions. Hope you make this a learning arena with me. Catch me on the streets.

2 thoughts on “African Lit Is Lit #WinterABC24

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started